Argyle Legends vs Chestnut Rovers 2012

Sunday 22nd April


Argyle Legends were pushed all the way by a young and enthusiastic Chestnut Rovers team before scoring twice in the last 6 minutes to extend their unbeaten run to 6 matches.
The Legends made 5 changes to the side that defeated Willand Rovers in their last match, welcoming back Gary Penhaligon; John Uzzell; Ryan Cross; Darren Garner and Leigh Cooper.
The early exchanges were even as both sides prompted for openings in heavy rain. The first scoring opportunity came after 25 minutes when Tommy Tynan was fouled in the penalty area. After picking himself up Tynan blasted the spot kick over the crossbar.
The Legends found themselves 1-0 down in the 32nd minute when Ceri Jackson scored after a defensive lapse.
After 37 minutes Ryan Cross should have equalised, but headed a Darren Garner cross, wide when well placed.
The Legends finished the half on the offensive but some resolute defending saw Chestnut Rovers go into half time leading by 1-0.
The first 15 minutes of the second half saw the Legends struggle to make an impression on the home defence and on the hour mark Mark Crocker replaced Leigh Cooper. Crocker slotted in alongside Tynan with Mark Damerell moving to wide left.
The substitution had an immediate impact with Martin Barlow equalising in the 62nd minute with a low shot from the edge of the penalty area.
Spurred on by this goal the Legends soon took control of the game and spurned several chances before taking the lead in the 84th minute, Crocker coolly converting a penalty after Garner was fouled in the area.
The home side hit back immediately and only a great one handed save by Penhaligon preserved the Legends slender lead.
In the 87th minute Tynan made it 3-1 to the Legends, scoring with a header after his initial effort had rebounded from the crossbar.
There was no more scoring and it was the Legends who retained the Chestnut Trophy.
Legends Line Up
Garry Penhaligon
Geoff Battams
Darren Tallon
Chris Harrison
John Uzzell (Spencer Cooper 70 mins)
Ryan Cross
Darren Garner
Martin Barlow
Leigh Cooper (Marcus Crocker 60 mins)
Tommy Tynan
Mark Damerell