Argyle Legends vs Wadebridge Town Veterans 2009

alvwtv09 team1 alvwtv09 team2
Argyle Legends were delighted to accept an invitation to travel to Wadebridge to play the local veterans team for the Brian Williams Memorial Trophy on Sunday August 2nd 2009.

A large crowd had gathered in the sunshine to watch the game and with all monies being donated to the Cornwall Hospice a successful afternoon was to follow.

Early exchanges were even in Wadebridge's impressive ground with neither goalkeeper being seriously tested. It therefore came as a surprise when Wadebridge took the lead in the 18th minute with a header following a corner on the left. The hosts missed an opportunity to increase their lead in the 35th minute with a twice missed penalty following a foul by Legends defender Ryan Cross. This seemed to spur Argyle Legends into action and with Martin Barlow and Mark Rowe starting to dominate in midfield they came more into the game as the interval approached. However despite a powerful header from Danny O'Hagan flashing narrowly over the crossbar the score remained 1-0 to Wadebridge Vets at half time.

Argyle Legends introduced two substitutes at the start of the second half with John Uzzell and Michael Shilton (son of former Argyle Legend Peter Shilton) taking the field. This appeared to have a positive effect with Argyle having a large amount of possession. Wadebridge Vets always looked dangerous on the break and increased their lead in the 60th minute with a shot from 25 yards. Argyle Legends continued to have more of the game and deservedly pulled a goal back in the 68th minute when debutant Danny O'Hagan netted from close range. Any hopes of an equalizer were dashed in the 71st minute when the hosts made it 3-1 with a close range header. Despite Argyle Legends coming close to scoring on several occasions the game ended with the cup being presented to the home captain.

Refreshments and an auction followed in the clubhouse which raised more money for the Hospice which after all was the main purpose of the day.

The Argyle Legends line up included;

Leigh Cooper,
Chris Harrison,
Ryan Cross,
Darren Tallon,
Mark Rowe,
Martin Barlow,
Mark Damerell,
Danny O'Hagan,
Steve Davey,
and John Uzzell.
Click on the thumbnails to view the full images